Info and history of the Santa Clara Valley Athletic League and its two divisions.

Official website:

For baseball, the Santa Clara Valley Athletic League consists of fourteen teams divided into two divisions, the eight team A-league De Anza division and the six team B-league El Camino division.  Division membership varies by sport.  The league is a member of the CIF Central Coast Section.

The divisions are arranged hierarchically, with the De Anza being the high division.  After each season, one team is relegated from the De Anza to the El Camino, and one team is promoted from the El Camino to the De Anza.  For 2024, Cupertino moves up to the De Anza, and Santa Clara moves down to the El Camino.


Cupertino Pioneers

Gunn Titans

Homestead Mustangs

Los Altos Eagles

Los Gatos Wildcats

Mountain View Spartans

Palo Alto Vikings

Wilcox Chargers


Fremont Firebirds

Lynbrook Vikings

Milpitas Trojans

Monta Vista Matadors

Santa Clara Bruins

Saratoga Falcons

Six SCVAL teams are automatic qualifiers for the CIF Central Coast Section Baseball Playoffs. Five teams, the 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th place finishers in the De Anza, and the 1st place finisher in the El Camino, automatically advance to CCS, while the 5th place De Anza and 2nd place El Camino teams compete in a play-in game for the sixth berth. The remaining schools eligible to be considered for at-large berths in the tournament. At-large berths require a .500 record and are based upon a points system which takes into account a team's final 22 games. Points earned are based upon the league classification of opponents and are awarded for both wins and losses:  A ( 3 points for a win,  1 point for a loss ), B ( 2.5 for a win, .5 for a loss ), C ( 2 for a win, 0 for a loss )

The league was founded in 1973 and adopted its current two division structure in 1974.  During the 1970's and 1980's four of the league's original member schools -- Mountain View, Peterson, Santa Clara and Sunnyvale – closed, though two of the names continued on through the renaming of existing schools.  Awalt was renamed Mountain View and Buchser was renamed Santa Clara. Peterson became a middle school of the same name, and Sunnyvale is today home of the private King’s Academy.  At the time of its reopening, Mountain View adopted the colors and mascot of its new home, Awalt, allowing Los Altos to adopt Mountain View’s former colors and mascot.