Archives‎ > ‎2015 News Archive‎ > ‎

2015 Varsity League and Team Awards

posted Jun 3, 2015, 9:33 AM by Bill Walstrom   [ updated Jan 14, 2016, 8:11 AM ]

Nine members of the 2015 Varsity team received league recognition:  Junior Ben Champion was named league MVP, seniors Kyle Avvakumovits, Daniel Kono, Morgan Saenz and Alan Vigent were named to the first team, junior Anthony Pozzetti and freshman Ben Townsend were named to the second team, and junior Josh Longabaugh and senior Riley Waite received Honorable Mentions.


Ben Champion MVP

First Team

Kyle Avvakumovits First Team  Daniel Kono First Team  Morgan Szenz First Team  Alan Vigent First Team

Second Team 

Anthony Pozzetti Second Team  Ben Townsend Second Team

Honorable Mention

Josh Longabaugh Honorable Mention  Riley Waite Honorable Mention


Six players were honored with recognition from their teammates in 2015: senior Daniel Kono was named Best Offensive Player, junior Josh Longabaugh and seniors Alan Vigent and Riley Waite shared Best Defensive Player honors, junior Ben Champion was named Best Pitcher, and senior Riley Waite was named Most Inspirational.

Best Offensive Player

Daniel Kono Best Offensive Player

Best Defensive Player (Tie)

Josh Longabaugh Best Defensive Player  Alan Vigent Best Defensive Player  Riley Waite Best Defensive Player

Best Pitcher

Ben Champion Best Pitcher

Most Inspirational

Riley Waite Most Inspirational

Four members of the 2015 Varsity team received special recognition from Cupertino High School: Senior Alan Vigent, and juniors Joel Banholzer, Niko Banks and Ben Champion were recognized for Academic Achievement. while playing sports.

Academic Achievement 

Joel Banholzer  Niko Banks  Ben Champion  Alan Vigent